Raleigh Skyline

Driving with a Revoked or Suspended License

Driving with a Suspended or Revoked License

If you have been charged with Driving with a Revoked or Suspended License, contact us for legal advice and representation.

Driving with a suspended license or revoked is a serious offense, and includes cases involving a suspension based on serious traffic violations, failure to pay child support, failure to pay a ticket and DWI.  It can result in consequences such as:

  • Probation
  • Jail time
  • Fines
  • DMV points

Our firm has many years of experience defending clients facing vehicle-related offenses, and can discuss all of your legal options, and the best way to proceed with your defense.  We provide trusted and accomplished representation to clients throughout Raleigh, Durham, Chapel Hill and Fayetteville.

Protecting Your Rights

Driving with License Revoked (DWLR) is a misdemeanor criminal offense that can lead to up to 120 days in jail, add more time to your revocation, or even can result in permanent revocation depending on your prior criminal history.  Fighting charges of driving on a suspended or revoked license (DWLR) will require an aggressive defense conducted by a skilled and experienced attorney.  Our firm will investigate the charges against you, thoroughly review your driving record, and develop an effective strategy to challenge the prosecution’s evidence.  We will look for ways to reduce the charges in your case, and will even seek a dismissal if your rights have been violated or there are other significant flaws in the prosecution’s case.  We can also help you with getting your license back through reinstatement, as well as the acquisition of a license with limited driving privileges.  If you have received a DWLR ticket, contact us today for immediate legal assistance! Driving with a Revoked or Suspended License 

Reasons Your License can be Suspended or Revoked

Other reasons why your driver’s license can be suspended or revoked include:

  • Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol or Drugs (DUI). 
  • Accumulation of a certain number of points on your driver’s license within a three-year period.
  • Failing to pay court costs.
  • Impaired driving conviction.
  • Leaving the scene of an accident without stopping.
  • Speeding.

Penalties for Driving with a Suspended or Revoked License in North Carolina?

Driving on a Suspended or Revoked license is punished based on whether it is classified as a Class 1 misdemeanor or a Class 3 misdemeanor. You may face a fine of up to $200.00 and up to 150 days in jail.

How Soon Can I Drive?

After your North Carolina driver’s license is suspended for any reason, you will not be able to drive for the length of your suspension. If you are eligible, you can drive on a limited permit 30 days after the date of conviction. Our firm regularly represents clients who tried and failed to obtain their limited driving privileges.

At the end of the suspension or revocation period, you have to pay a fine and meet other imposed requirements before you can drive again in North Carolina.

Reinstating Your License in North Carolina

While there are ways to reinstate your license, doing so immediately after you have been charged with driving while your license is revoked or suspended is not recommended. Your best option to avoid additional suspension time would be to wait until your sentencing hearing for the DWLR charge.

What Should You Do?

If you have been charged with Driving on a Suspended or Revoked License, you need to know the consequences and the ways you can fight this charge.

As we saw above, this is serious and can result in fines and jail time, as well as further suspension of your license. It’s important to be aware that there may also be DMV points associated with this charge that will affect the status of your license.

It is essential to seek legal help from a skilled North Carolina criminal defense attorney. You have the right to understand the charges against you and develop a strong criminal defense strategy.  

At NC Law Talk, we will provide trusted legal counsel as we aggressively fight for your best interests. We offer a number of legal options depending on your circumstances – from diversion programs to reinstating your driver’s license through limited driving privileges.

Please contact us today for a free consultation, and we will begin work immediately on your defense!

Get In Touch With Our Team Today To Get Your Revoked Or Suspended License Back

If you have been charged with Driving on a Suspended or Revoked License, contact our firm today for the legal representation you deserve. NC Law Talk has a dedicated legal team that has helped resolve thousands of driving with suspended or revoked license cases. We provide trusted and accomplished representation for clients throughout North Carolina!

Contact The Law Offices of J.M. Kotzker Today

We have over 30 years of experience defending Raleigh residents against all types of traffic and criminal offenses.

We know the law and we will use our knowledge to defend your driving record, fight for your rights, and work to get your ticket or criminal case reduced or dismissed completely.

Call us at  919-439-5104 or fill out the form to contact us now for immediate help.